HomeMMBIZ NewsASEAN Committee on Investment to Meet in Myanmar

ASEAN Committee on Investment to Meet in Myanmar

Myanmar will host the 62nd ASEAN Coordination Committee on Investment in Nay Pyi Taw this weekend.

At the two-day meeting from January 10 to 11, dozens of investment officers from member nations of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) including host Myanmar are expected to discuss matters related to the ASEAN Comprehensive Investment Treaty (ACIT).

The discussion will focus on amending the ACIT and the unpermitted accounts included in the treaty, state-run media said. The delegates will also discuss the ongoing work programs in implementing the treaty, it added.

The ASEAN Coordination Committee on Investment carries out promotion of investment in the region, ensures formulation of smooth and relaxed rules and regulations, and encourages further flow of investment from regional countries.

The committee also acts as a leading supervisory committee for implementation of investment commitment and cooperation among ASEAN and dialogue partner countries.

The committee meeting will be followed by the first Myanmar-hosted ASEAN foreign ministers meeting (AMM) from January 15 to 18 in Bagan, Mandalay region.

Myanmar officially assumed the chairmanship of the bloc from Brunei on January 1.

During Myanmar’s one-year term of the ASEAN chairmanship, more than 280 bloc meetings including two major summits are scheduled to be held in Nay Pyi Taw, Yangon, Mandalay and Bagan, according to the press department of the Ministry of Information.

The major events on the 2014 calendar are the 24th and 25th ASEAN summits which will be held in May and October respectively.

Myanmar is scheduled to host 36 meetings in January, 11 meetings in February, 80 meetings in March, 20 in April, 13 in May, 12 in June, 26 in July, 27 in August, 11 in September, 17 in October and 25 in December, the press department said.

ASEAN adopted its Vision-2020 in 1997 and is set to establish the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) in 2015.

ASEAN comprises Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Myanmar became an ASEAN member in 1997.

- Advertisment -spot_img

Must Read

Ooredoo adopts new brand positioning

Recently, Ooredoo Myanmar changed their brand logo on Facebook baffling the users amid rumours that Ooredoo Group was planning to sell its Myanmar branch. But...