Home MMBIZ News India Adds Myanmar on Visa on Arrival List

India Adds Myanmar on Visa on Arrival List

India has launched a Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVOA) scheme for 43 countries including Myanmar, the Indian embassy at Yangon announced.

A website https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/tvoa.html has been launched for this purpose which details the procedure including the complete list of 43 countries whose citizens can avail of this service.

Myanmar citizens will now be able to apply online for tourist visas – twice a year, each visit not exceeding 30 days, visa duration non-extendable except in the event of medical emergencies – which shall be granted within 72 hours through email.

The purpose of visit to India may range from tourism, casual business visit, short term medical treatment, to meet friends and relatives, the embassy announcements states.

The applicant is expected to take a print out of the email and can travel to India through nine designated international airports – Bangalore, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram.

The scheme entails capture of biometric data of the visitor on arrival at the airport.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

MAI Receives Second A320, Taking Its Fleet Size to Seven Aircraft 

Myanmar's leading carrier, Myanmar Airways International (MAI), received its second A320 yesterday. To commemorate the aircraft's arrival from the Netherlands, a celebratory event was...