HomeMMBIZ NewsMyanmar Extends eVisa to 32 More Countries

Myanmar Extends eVisa to 32 More Countries

The Ministry of Immigration and Population announced that it has expanded its eVisa scheme to 32 more countries.

The new countries join a list of 68 countries that are already eligible for the eVisa system, which was introduced in September last year in a bid to boost tourist arrivals in the country ahead of the “Visit Myanmar Year” in 2016.

The scheme is also a part of the half-a-billion dollar Myanmar Tourism Master Plan that was introduced at the World Economic Forum in June 2013 in Naypyitaw.

Tourist arrival in 2014 was registered as 3.05 million, up 49.5 percent from 2.04 million in 2013, official figures show.

eVisa can be applied at MOIP’s website – evisa.moip.gov.mm – by paying a non-refundable $50. After lodging the application, an approval letter is sent by email within five days to the applicant and this can be used to get a stamp on arrival at Yangon airport.

The visas are valid for 90 days from the date of issue. However, it only allows a tourist to stay in Myanmar for 28 days and it can’t be extended.

The following 32 countries are permitted to apply for eVisa from Jan 2, 2015:

Travellers applying for an eVisa, must complete the online form, provide a 4.8cm x 3.8cm colour photo that can be attached to the online file and have a valid passport of more than six months.

They have to identify they are staying in a registered hotel, or guesthouse, to meet visa conditions and the visa is limited to tourism purposes excluding business, event or seminar related trips. It can only be used at the entry points of Yangon, Mandalay and Naypyitaw airports.

- Advertisment -spot_img

Must Read

Ooredoo adopts new brand positioning

Recently, Ooredoo Myanmar changed their brand logo on Facebook baffling the users amid rumours that Ooredoo Group was planning to sell its Myanmar branch. But...